Academic English is the main program offered at the ELI and it runs all year long, with four different beginning dates. Students who are conditionally admitted to a degree program at Syracuse University enroll in Academic English.

Find out more about conditional admission at Syracuse

Students who want to succeed in an academic program in the United States benefit greatly from Academic English courses at the ELI. Courses are offered in various proficiency levels, from beginning through advanced. Course components include reading comprehension, academic writing, grammar, listening comprehension, oral production, and vocabulary development. Students spend 20-25 hours per week in small classes with personalized attention from instructors and many opportunities for practice. In the fall and spring semesters, Academic English courses are supplemented with conversation and mentor groups for students to gain additional English practice.

Academic English Proficiency Levels

 

Students attend class Monday through Friday. A typical day at the ELI looks like this:

Class Schedule
8:45 am – 10:15 am Textual Communication
10:15 am – 10:45 am Break
10:45 am – 12:15 pm Oral Communication
12:15 pm – 1:30 pm Lunch
1:30 pm – 3:00 pm Accuracy
(Monday – Thursday only)

 

Fall 2019

Event Date
Testing & Orientation: Thursday, August 22 & Friday, August 23
First Day of Classes: Monday, August 26
Labor Day – No Classes: Monday, September 2
Fall Break – No Classes: Sunday, November 17 – Sunday, November 24
Last Day of Classes: Thursday, December 12
Certificate Ceremony: Friday, December 13

Fall 2019 Course Fees

Item Cost
Tuition (Due before the first day of class.) $7,360
Student Activity Fee $70
Estimated Living Expenses $6,580
Incidentals (books, health insurance, etc.) $1,800
Student Communication Fee (for students living on campus) $220

Spring 2020

Event Date
Testing & Orientation: Thursday, January 9 and Friday, January 10
First Day of Classes: Monday, January 13
Martin Luther King Jr. Day- No Classes: Monday, January 20
Spring Break – No Classes: Sunday, March 15- Sunday, March 22
Last Day of Classes: Thursday, May 1
Certificate Ceremony: Friday, May 2

Spring 2020 Course Fees

Item Cost
Tuition (Due before the first day of class.) $7,360
Student Activity Fee $70
Estimated Living Expenses $6,580
Incidentals (books, health insurance, etc.) $1,800
Student Communication Fee (for students living on campus) $220